Happy Thanksgiving! St. Louis County offices will be closed November 22-23.
 

St. Louis County is committed to protecting our most vulnerable residents - our children. 

St. Louis County Children and Family Services assesses reports of alleged child maltreatment that are believed to have been committed by a parent or other household member, as well as provide ongoing support to families.  Our goal is to engage families in a partnership to ensure the safety, permanency, and well-being of their children. This also encompasses a vision of partnering with community members to help support and nurture children and families.

The following criteria are used to determine when to perform a child maltreatment assessment in accordance with Minnesota Statutes Screening-Criteria-Alleged-Child-Maltreatment.pdf.

For more information visit the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) Child Protection website

Who should report?

Mandated reporters are required, by law to report and are those professionals who work with children, who include but are not limited to the following: teachers, daycare providers, medical providers, and mental health professionals.

Voluntary reporters are those who do not hold professions involving working with children.  Voluntary reporters are not required, by law, to report, but should report if they suspect or witness child abuse or neglect.

When should I report?

MN Statute requires that persons verbally report any suspected child abuse or neglect immediately, which means within 24 hours.  MN Statute also requires mandated reporters submit a written report within 72 hours.  If you are unsure whether or not you should report because you are unsure if what you witnessed or know about is suspected abuse or neglect, you are encouraged to call the local child protection agency.  The agency will then determine whether or not the report meets criteria and requires a response.

Why should I report?

The most important reason to report child abuse or neglect is to protect the child or other children from further abuse.  Children have few resources for changing the circumstances of their lives, and children who are being hurt or neglected by their caregivers rely on the intervention of others to protect them.  Children are vulnerable, and you may be the only person to whom a child shares their worries and concerns. If you are a mandated reporter, state law requires that you report.

What will I be asked?

When you make a report, you will be asked the following information:

  • If you are a mandated reporter your name, phone number, and relationship to the child will be asked; however, voluntary reporters are not required to provide this information
  • Where the child is now and whether s/he is in immediate danger. A description of when and where the incident occurred and what happened to the child
  • If child abuse or neglect was not witnessed by the reporter, you will be asked what the child or another person shared with you about the suspected abuse or neglect
  • A description of any injuries and the present condition of the child
  • The names and address of the child, parents/caregivers

Where do I report?

If you have reason to believe child abuse or neglect has happened, you can make your verbal report by contacting the contacting the local child protection agency.  If you believe the child is in immediate danger, you can also contact your local law enforcement agency by calling the department directly or calling 911. 

If you suspect abuse or neglect regarding children in South St. Louis County (includes areas South of Cotton, MN), please call 218.726.2012

If you suspect abuse or neglect regarding children in North St. Louis County (includes areas North of Cotton, MN), please call 218.471.7128.

Report Abuse

In an emergency call 9-1-1 to reach your local Law Enforcement agency.

Report Child Abuse



Initial Intervention Unit (IIU)
Duluth
218-726-2012
Fax: 218-725-5118
Email

Initial Intervention Unit (IIU)
Virginia
218-471-7128 
Fax: 218-471-7503
Email