Extension Committee

The mission of the St. Louis County Extension Committee is to make a difference by connecting community needs and university resources to address critical issues in St. Louis County. We do this by involving people in improving the quality of life and enhancing the economy and the environment through education and applied research.

The Minnesota State Legislature established County Extension Committees in 1923. The 2002 Minnesota County Extension Law is outlined in Minnesota State Statute 38.33 through 38.38.

See All Committee Meeting Minutes


St. Louis County Extension Committee:
Auditor Nancy Nilsen
Jim Takala, Chair
Gary Rantala
Richard Pierce
Doug Hoffbauer
Seija Packila, Vice-Chair
Commissioner Keith Nelson
Commissioner Frank Jewell


The County Extension Committee consists of nine members, including two members of the County Board, the County Auditor and six county residents that are appointed by the County Board;  County Extension Committee members serve three-year terms and may be re-appointed after one-year has elapsed.
The County Extension Committee is responsible for the following duties: 
Program Development and Evaluation:  County Extension Committee meetings are held regularly throughout the year to provide Extension staff with input and recommendations for County Extension work.


Patty Swedberg


All Contacts