Elections & Voting



St. Louis County strives to ensure that the registration and election process is provided to all eligible citizens in accordance with applicable laws and rules in the most efficient, effective, and timely manner for St. Louis County and its municipalities.

Filing Information During COVID-19

The filing period for numerous public offices begins Tuesday, May 19, and lasts through Friday, June 2, 2020. However, like so many other activities, the process for filing will be slightly different this year in St. Louis County due to COVID-19.
With the filing location - the St. Louis County Courthouse in Duluth - currently closed to the public in an effort to slow the spread of COVID-19, the County Auditor has announced new filing options. Candidates will be able to file by mail, using the secure drop box, or by appointment for curbside drop off. Regardless of the filing option a candidate chooses, all documents and fees must be physically received by the Auditor's Office by June 2 at 5 p.m.

Additional COVID-19 Filing Information

Affidavit of Candidacy form

Candidate Filings

Filing Fees:
Judicial                                            $300
State Senator/Representative     $100
County Office                                    $50
Soil & Water Conservation              $20

If you have any questions about filing for office, please contact the St. Louis County Auditor’s Office, Election Division, at (218) 726-2385 or by email at: elections@stlouiscountymn.gov


Absentee Voting


If you are a resident of St. Louis County and want to vote by absentee ballot, you must complete and submit an absentee ballot application. Absentee ballots will be available 46 days before an election. Minnesota voters no longer need a reason to vote absentee.

You may check the status of your application or ballot on the Secretary of State website.

To apply online, click on the appropriate link below:

          Online Absentee Ballot Application

          Online Military/Overseas FPCA Application

To download a paper application, click on the appropriate link below:

          Paper Absentee Ballot Application

          Paper Military/Overseas FPCA Absentee Ballot Application

Applications should be returned to the County Auditor's office by mail, fax, or e-mail and will be forwarded to the appropriate city, town, or school district clerk if necessary.

St. Louis County Auditor
100 North  5th Avenue West, Room 214
 Duluth, MN 55802-1293

E-mail: elections@stlouiscountymn.gov
Fax: (218) 725-5060

Telephone: (218) 726-2385
Toll Free: 1-800-450-9777 (Minnesota only)


If you are a candidate, the below listed links will answer frequently asked questions and provide useful election related information:

Election Results

Phil Chapman
Deputy Auditor
Supervisor of Elections