Emergency:COVID-19 latest news: All St. Louis County buildings are closed to the public in compliance with the Governor's executive order. Details here
The filing period for various public offices is May 19-June 2. Click here to learn about filing options.

County Board of Appeal & Equalization


CBAE Meetings

An appeal may only be brought before the County Board of Appeal and Equalization (CBAE) if a property is in an unorganized township, or if it was appealed at the current year's Local Board of Appeal and Equalization (LBAE).

To schedule an appeal, contact the Clerk of the County Board at 218-726-2385, or send written appeal to:

Clerk of the County Board
100 N. 5th Ave. W., #214
Duluth, MN 55802-1293

Please make an appointment to ensure time availability. 

2020 Meeting Dates

St. Louis County's Special Board of Appeal and Equalization is scheduled to meet on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, June 16, 2020, in Duluth (Courthouse, Commissioner's Conference Room), 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 18, 2020, in Virginia (GSC, Liz Prebich Room), 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
CBAE minutes are posted shortly after the conclusion of meetings and may be found in the document library below.

2020 Members

St. Louis County's Special Board of Appeal and Equalization is made up of seven (7) members.  Each is appointed by a County Commissioner:
Commissioner District 1:  John Vigen
Commissioner District 2:  John Doberstein
Commissioner District 3:  Sherri Puckett
Commissioner District 4:  Len Cersine
Commissioner District 5:  Tim Peterson
Commissioner District 6:  Dawn Cole
Commissioner District 7:  Frank Bigelow


Duluth Office
Hibbing Office
Virginia Office