Appealing Property Value or Classification
If you have a question or concern regarding your property's value and classification, the first step is to contact your assessor.
After meeting with your assessor to discuss your concerns, three levels of appeal are available. You must complete these in order, unless you choose to go directly to the Regular Division of Minnesota Tax Court.
- In April or May, city and township boards of appeal and equalization meet to review and rule upon appeals. They have the authority to order changes in your value and classification. To appear at the meeting, contact your city or township clerk.
- If you are not satisfied with the local Board of Appeal and Equalization decision, you may appeal to the County Board of Appeal and Equalization, which meets during the last two weeks in June. The County Board of Appeal and Equalization is appointed by the County Board and consists of members with extensive knowledge of the real estate market. To schedule an appeal, call the Clerk of the County Board at 218-726-2381.
- If you're not satisfied with the County Board of Appeal and Equalization decision, you may appeal to the Minnesota Tax Court. You have until April 30 of the year tax is payable to appeal the valuation and classification.
Further information is available on the Minnesota Department of Revenue website:
How to Appeal Your Value and Classification
Minnesota Tax Court
The Minnesota Tax Court has two divisions: Small Claims and Regular.
The Small Claims Division hears appeals concerning:
- Homesteads and farm homesteads of any market value,
- Other types of property of less than $300,000 in market value, and
- Cases where the amount contested does not exceed $5,000, including penalty and interest.
The Regular Division hears all kinds of appeals.
Small Claims Division proceedings are less formal, and people sometimes represent themselves. The proceedings of the Regular Division conform to the Minnesota rules of civil procedure, leading most people to hire an attorney.
St. Louis County will accept service of Tax Court petitions in person or by email.
Emailed petitions shall be directed to:
Petitions must include an admissions of service page (typically page 2 of Minnesota Tax Court Form 7
). County staff in the Assessor’s Attorney’s and Auditor’s offices will acknowledge service by signing this page.
After all signatures have been applied, the County will email the petition and proof of service to the petitioner.
It is the responsibility of the petitioner to timely file the petition with proof of service with the district court. Updates on the status of the district court can be found on the Minnesota Judicial Branch website (www.mncourts.gov
). More information about the filing process may be found on the Minnesota Tax Court website (www.mn.gov/tax-court