St. Louis County office buildings will be closed Monday, May 27, in observance of Memorial Day.
 
Ministry credentials

Marriage Officiants

 
 

PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM MARRIAGES: Marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the residential school administrators of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination; an individual who registers as a civil marriage officiant with a local registrar in a county of this state or by any mode recognized in section 517.18 of Minnesota Statute.

Ministers of any religious denomination may file a copy of their credentials of license or ordination with the office in the Duluth Courthouse by mail or in person, Minnesota Statute 517.05.

Marriage Officiants Registration by Mail

If registering by mail, please submit the following: the completed, notarized Certificate of Filing, $40.00 filing fee, a photocopy of your government issued photo identification, and, if applicable, a photocopy of your credentials of license or ordination to St. Louis County Recorder, Attn: Credentials, P.O. Box 157, Duluth, MN 55801. Make your check or money order payable to the St. Louis County Recorder. The recorded document will be returned to the mailing address furnished.  Also, please include a phone number.

Marriage Officiants Registration in Person

If registering in person, please visit the St. Louis County Recorder's Office, 100 N 5th Avenue W., Room 101, Duluth, MN 55802. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central Standard Time. Please bring your government issued photo identification, $40.00 filing fee, and, if applicable, your credentials of license or ordination. A Certificate of Filing will be completed and signed before a deputy. For additional information or questions phone 218-726-2677 or email birthdeathmarriage@stlouiscountymn.gov .

Marriage Officiants Registration by Email

To file as a marriage officiant or record a ministry credential and pay online, use the following instructions:

St. Louis County offers credit card payments (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover) through ACI Payments. You will be charged a service fee for the use of this service. Please use today's date as the transaction number so that we can process the order quickly. Go to the ACI Payment web site. Next, click on “Local Payments”. Choose the State of “Minnesota”, payment entity of “St. Louis County”, and payment type of “copy fee” and enter $40 for the amount. Follow the remaining steps as prompted. Print out or save the Confirmation of Payment page that you receive from ACI Payment Inc so you can attach to the email with the application.  Located at: https://www.acipayonline.com/index.jsp 

Send, a complete notarized Certificate of Filing, a photocopy of your government issued identification, your credential of license or ordination, if applicable and the confirmation of payment to birthdeathmarriage@stlouiscountymn.gov. Once these are received, the request will be processed and mailed to you at the address indicated on the Certificate of Filing. Allow 1-2 weeks for processing and mail delivery time.