Marriage applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Both applicants must appear together in person and present valid picture identification. The marriage ceremony must take place within the geographical boundaries of Minnesota. The license will be valid six months from the date of issue.
Please begin the marriage license process with the online application.
Once complete, please visit one of our offices to obtain the Minnesota marriage license.
Call 218-726-2559 with questions.
Couples who complete the premarital education requirements may be eligible for a reduced fee. Please read the requirements carefully.
Beginning August 1, 2023, applicants with a felony conviction for a crime committed under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction may no longer change their name through the marriage process. Individuals with a felony conviction will need to apply for a legal name change with the district court in their county of residence. Minnesota residents may apply through the district court at no charge if the person files the action within 180 days after the marriage and submits to the court a certified copy of the marriage certificate.