GOVERNMENTDepartments & AgenciesAuditor   

The Auditor/Treasurer's office oversees five divisions comprised of 72 employees: Elections, Clerk of the Board, Accounting & Finance, Property Taxes, and the St. Louis County Auditor Service Center.

Topic Areas


Property tax payments and Lookup
Tax Rate Sheets
Abstract of Tax List
Tax Increment Supplement
Levy - Public Hearing Forms
Mortgage/Deed Tax Calculator 

Elections & Voting

General Election Results
Primary Election Results
Canvassing Board
Elections and Voting
Election and Voting Information

Auditor Service Center

Motor Vehicle
DNR Licensing
Passports and Photographs
Drivers License
Property Tax Payments-(Parcel Tax Lookup)
Plat Book Sales

Board of Commissioners

Meeting Schedule
Meeting Results
Current Year Minutes
Prior Years Minutes
Board Policy Manual


Annual Financial Report
How to Receive Payments Faster Electronically


City and Town Officers Lists
School District Officials Lists 


Boards & Committees

Extension Committee Application
CDBG Citizen Advisory 
HRA Board  

News and Press

News and Press 

Latest department news!

Reports & Publications

Latest department reports, publications, and documents.

Image of Donald DicklichDonald Dicklich was sworn in as the St. Louis County Auditor/Treasurer on April 12, 2004.  He was elected to a four-year term January 2007, was re-elected January 2011 and was re-elected again January 2015.  As an elected official, the Auditor/Treasurer is the County’s Chief Fiscal Officer, Chief Tax Collector, Clerk of the County Board, Registrar of Voters, and Supervisor of Elections.

The duties and services of each division of the St. Louis County Auditor-Treasurer are as follows:

Tax Division - Property and other taxes, Deed & mortgage taxes

Clerk of the Board/Elections - Official Board records, Administers Elections, Liquor licenses, Tobacco licenses

Accounting - Performs county-wide financial accounting administration

Service Center - Vehicle/DNR registrations and titles, Driver's license renewals, Passport applications and photographs, Naturalization photographs, Property tax payments, Plat book sales

Virginia Auditor's office - Assists Tax Division with Land Records, Property tax payments, Assists with deed and mortgage taxes


100 N 5th Ave W
Duluth, MN  55802

Info:  218-726-2380
Fax:  218-725-5060

Tax Division    
Brandon Larson Tax Division Manager 218-726-2383

Clerk of the Board/Elections
Phil Chapman Clerk of the Board/Director
of Elections 218-726-2385 
  Board Records   218-726-2385
  Election Administration   218-726-2385  
  Licensing-Liquor, Tobacco, Misc.   218-726-2385
Service Center      
Ben Martin Director of Licensing 218-279-2520
Licensing-Motor Vehicle, DNR, Drivers License, Passports   218-279-2520

Cristen Christensen Finance Director 218-726-2151
  Payroll   218-726-2393
  Accounts Payable    218-726-2407
  Accounts Receivable    218-725-5112 
Cindy Palm Financial Analyst 218-749-7104
Internal Audit       
Halene Wehseler  Internal Auditor 218-733-2701
Donald Dicklich Auditor-Treasurer 218-726-2380
Nancy Nilsen Chief Deputy 218-726-2380

Go to top

St. Louis County Courthouse
100 N. 5th Avenue West Room #214
Duluth, MN 55802
Phone: (218) 726-2380
Fax: (218) 725-5060

View Larger Map

Service Center
Miller Hill Mall
1600 Miller Trunk Highway
Suite E03
Duluth, MN 55811
Phone: (218) 279-2520
Fax: (218) 279-2521

View Larger Map
Northland Office Center
307 S. 1st St.
Virginia, MN 55792
(218) 749-7104

View Larger Map