LAND & PROPERTYGarbage & RecyclingGarbage Disposal   

Garbage Disposal

St. Louis County provides a comprehensive management system for garbage and recycling for all of St. Louis County outside of Duluth and surrounding townships. 

For solid waste management information for Alden, Canosia, Duluth, Gnesen, Grand Lake, Fredenberg, Lakewood, Marion Lake(54-13), Midway, Normanna, North Star, Rice Lake and Solway Townships, and the Cities of Duluth, Hermantown and Proctor, go to the Western Lake Superior Sanitary District's web site or call WLSSD at 722-3336.

General Information Specific Garbage Topics Why Burning Garbage is Banned

The County's comprehensive system of solid waste facilities consists of: 

  • The St. Louis County Regional Landfill near Virginia
  • Five solid waste transfer stations near Aurora, Brookston, Cook, Ely, and Hibbing
  • 20 canister sites
  • 2 household hazardous waste facilities near Virginia and Hibbing
  • 48 recycling drop-off sites  

More information:

1 2 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 3

St. Louis County Environmental Services Department
307 First St. S., Ste. 115
Virginia, Minnesota  55792