[image: image1.png]



PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 
Requirements of the Educator Statement are set out in statute (MS 517.08 Subd. 1) and are as follows:  

a. Statement must be on the Educator’s Letterhead.

b. Educator’s signature must be notarized.

c. Couple must have completed 12 hours of education.

d. Educator’s statement must be presented at time of application.  No 

               refunds.

e. Education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or 
               designee authorized to solemnize marriage under MS 517.18 or
               licensed  to practice marriage and family therapy under MS 148B.33.

f.  Local Registrar will retain Educator’s statement for seven years.

g. Names of both applicants must be on Educator’s Statement and must
               be identical to the full legal names on the marriage application.

Statute specifically requires the following exact language be used on the Educator’s Statement.

“I, _______ (name of educator – print clearly), Confirm that _____________ (the names of both parties in the educator’s statement must be identical to the full legal names of the parties as they appear on the marriage license application.) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33.

________________________________________________________________

517.18 Marriage solemnization.
Subdivision 1. All marriages solemnized among the people called Friends or Quakers, in the form heretofore practiced and in use in their meetings, shall be valid and not affected by any of the foregoing provisions. The clerk of the meeting in which such marriage is solemnized, within one month after any such marriage, shall deliver a certificate of the same to the County Recorder of the county where the marriage took place, under penalty of not more than $100.  Such certificate shall be filed and recorded by the County Recorder under a like penalty.  If such marriage does not take place in such meeting, such certificate shall be signed by the parties and at least six witnesses present and shall be filed and recorded as above provided under a like penalty.
Subd. 2.  Marriages may be solemnized among members of the Baha’i faith by the chair of an incorporated local Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’is, according to the form and usage of such society.

Subd. 3.  Marriages may be solemnized among Hindus or Muslims by the person chosen by a local Hindu or Muslim association, according to the form and usage of their respective religions.
Subd. 4. Marriages may be solemnized among American Indians according to the form and usage of their religion by an Indian Mide’ or holy person chosen by the parties to the marriage.

Subd. 5.  Nothing in subdivisions 2 to 4 shall be construed to alter the requirements of section 517.01, 517.09 or 517.10.

148B.33 Requirements for licensure.

Subdivision 1.  Documentary evidence of qualifications. An applicant for a license shall furnish evidence that the applicant:

(1) Has attained the age of majority;

(2) Is of good moral character;

(3) Is a citizen of the United States, or is lawfully entitled to remain and work in

the United States;

(4) Has at least two years of supervised postgraduate experience in marriage
and family therapy satisfactory to the board;

(5)(i) Has completed a master’s or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a program in a regionally accredited educational institution or from a program accredited by the commissioner on accreditations for marriage and family therapy education of the American association for marriage and family therapy; or (ii) has completed a master’s or doctoral degree from a regionally accredited educational institution in a related field for which the course work is considered by the board to be equivalent to that provided in clause (5)(i);

(6) Will agree to conduct all professional activities as a licensed marriage and family therapist in accordance with a code of ethics for marriage and family therapists to be adopted by the board; and

(7) Has passed an examination approved by the board by rule. 
Subd. 2. Fee. Each applicant shall pay a non refundable application fee set by the board.
