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352 UNBELTED MOTORISTS KILLED ON MINNESOTA ROADS IN THE 

LAST THREE YEARS 
  

Nearly 41 percent of all motorists killed in traffic crashes on Minnesota roads during the last 

three years (2010-2012) were not buckled up, according to the Minnesota Department of Public 

Safety Office of Traffic Safety. This statistic is another alert for motorists to buckle up every seat, 

every time. 

“We are still seeing a large number of people who don’t wear their seat belt or don’t buckle 

up in the back seat,” says Sgt. John Backman from St. Louis County Sheriff's Office.  “Many of the 

serious injuries and deaths we see resulting from a crash can be prevented by simply wearing a seat 

belt—it’s the best defense in a vehicle in the case of a crash.”  

Often people have questions about booster seats.  Minnesota statute requires children under 

age 8 to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller. 

Children should start riding in a booster upon outgrowing a forward-facing restraint.  Boosters lift a 

child up so adult seat belts fit children properly. A child should remain in a booster until they are 4 

feet 9 inches tall, or at least age 8. 

Across the Iron Range during the month of May there will be increased law enforcement 

patrols targeting lack of compliance with the seatbelt and childseat/booster laws. Although there are 

far worse consequences for not wearing a seatbelt, the officers out there working those shifts will be 

writing tickets to unbelted occupants of vehicles. 
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