St. Louis County Public Health and Human

Services (SLCPHHS) Burial Procedure

Effective: 01/01/2020
Updated: 12/31/2019

I. PURPOSE

In accordance with Minnesota Statutes 8 261.035, SLCPHHS will provide for the immediate
disposition or direct cremation for residents of the county who are otherwise unable to pay the
cost of disposition of their remains.

Per Minnesota Statutes § 256.935, MFIP (Minnesota Family Investment Program) will fund a
burial if the decedent was a recipient of MFIP at the time of death, and the individual is
otherwise eligible for burial assistance. No county dollars will be expended if there is eligibility
for MFIP burial funding.

Il. AUTHORITY
This procedure is based on the following authority:

MN Statute 8§ 261.035 Cremation, Burial, and Funerals at Expense of County

MN Statute § 256.935 Funeral Expenses, Payment by County Agency

MN Statute § 390.21 Disposition; Burial

MN Statute § 261.04 Liability of Estate

SLC County Board Resolution 13-70, County Burial Policy, adopted February 5, 2013
SLC County Board Resolution 13-768, County Burial Rates, adopted December 17, 2013
SLC County Board Resolution 07-61, Medical Examiner Fee, adopted February 13, 2007

[ll. APPLICATION PROCESS
= Anyone may apply for burial assistance on behalf of a decedent; applicants are not
required to be next of kin. Relatives, friends, social workers, nursing home and hospital
staff, and other concerned parties may submit an application. A funeral home director
may be an applicant in cases where no other person is making burial arrangements.

= Applications for burial assistance must be made before any funeral services are held
unless weekends, holidays or extraordinary circumstances prevent a timely application.
Exceptions require supervisory approval. Funeral services may be completed prior to
the county’s eligibility determination of the burial assistance application, so long as an
application has been received by SLCPHHS.

= Application must be made in writing to SLCPHHS using the Application for St. Louis
County Burial, form PHHS #02-05-0256.

= An interview is not required unless requested by SLCPHHS.



= Eligibility for burial assistance can only be determined after a completed application is
submitted to SLCPHHS. Determination of eligibility for county burial assistance will be
made after the receipt of all required information. Required information includes:
0 A completed and signed application form;
0 Resource verifications of the decedent and responsible relatives. For
purposes of this burial procedure, a responsible relative is defined as a
surviving spouse or parent(s) if the deceased is a minor child,;
0 Any other requested verifications needed to determine eligibility.

= |f an application is incomplete or received without required verifications, SLCPHHS will
allow the application to pend for up to 30 days from the application date awaiting
verifications. It is the applicant’s responsibility to follow through with the application
process. If all required verifications are not received within 30 days of the application
date, the application will be denied.

= SLCPHHS will determine eligibility and method of final disposition.

» Final authorization will be in writing and provided to the funeral home and applicant
using form PHHS #02-05-0105 Notice of Action.

* An itemized receipt showing goods and services provided by the funeral home must
accompany the final invoice submitted to SLCPHHS.

IV. RESIDENCE
To be eligible for St. Louis County burial assistance, the deceased must be a resident of St.
Louis County at the time of death.
= |f the decedent is a recipient of public assistance at the time of death, St. Louis County
must be the county of financial responsibility (CFR).
» |f the decedent is not a recipient of public assistance at the time of death, proof of the
decedent’s residence in St. Louis County must be submitted.

V. ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION

Resources owned by the deceased or responsible relative at the time of death, or within 30
days prior to death, are considered available to help defray the burial costs. SLCPHHS
requires verification of all resources owned by the decedent and their responsible relative in
order to make a determination of eligibility.

If available resources are $2,200.00 or less, burial assistance will be approved. If available
resources are greater than $2,200.00, the burial assistance application will be denied.

If burial assistance is approved, the amount of assistance SLCPHHS will pay towards the
burial rate is reduced proportionally by the value of the available resources owned by the
decedent and the responsible relative, not to exceed the burial rate limit. The burial
assistance applicant is responsible to ensure that counted resources of the decedent and
responsible relative are paid directly to the burial provider. If other resources are discovered
or become available to the deceased’s estate, the county must be notified immediately by the
applicant.



i. Available Resources
Available resources include, but are not limited to, pre-paid burial arrangements, bank
accounts, cash, life insurance, trust accounts, nursing home trust funds, social welfare
funds, vehicles, real estate, jointly owned assets, and death benefits (including
Veteran’s Administration, Social Security Administration, and Help for Victims of Violent
Crimes) to which the deceased and/or responsible relative are entitled. The responsible
relative must apply for any and all available death benefits.

Any crowdfunding sources, such as fundraisers or GoFundMe accounts, solicited to
pay for burial expenses will be considered an available resource to the decedent. Any
crowdfunding benefits raised to help pay for the medical expenses of a deceased
Medical Assistance recipient will be considered available if the Medical Assistance
program covered all medical expenses. Any outstanding medical bills of the deceased
that are not covered by Medical Assistance may be paid by a crowdfunding source as
an allowable expense, however, any remaining balance in the crowdfunding source will
be considered an available resource to the decedent. Any funds raised via
crowdfunding may be subject to recovery to reimburse county paid costs.

ii. Excluded Resources
Exclude from resources of the responsible relative:
= one home that is the primary residence of the responsible relative,
= one vehicle for the responsible relative or a minor child of driving age

iii. Evaluation of Property
If the deceased does not have adequate liquid resources to pay for burial costs but
does own non-liquid resources above the resource limit, a county burial will not be
approved. It will be the responsibility of the funeral director to submit a claim against the
deceased person’s estate, inasmuch as reasonable funeral expenses are a priority
claim pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 524.3-805 (a)(2).

iv. Evaluation of Vehicles
Vehicles more than 15 years old will be assigned a countable value of $300.00 unless
the applicant can provide a dealer assessment or National Automobile Dealers
Association (NADA) verification showing a value of less than $300.00. This provision
does not apply to collector vehicles. Vehicles less than 15 years old and collector
vehicles will be assigned a countable value equal to that of the NADA evaluation.

VI. METHOD OF FINAL DISPOSITION
If prepaid funeral arrangements have been made, the final method of disposition will be
implemented in accord with the instructions of the deceased.

The method of final disposition will be cremation, unless cremation is contrary to the beliefs of
the deceased, or the deceased’s spouse or next of kin. If neither the wishes of the decedent or
the practices of the decedent’s faith tradition are known, and the county has no information
about the existence or location of any next of kin, the county may authorize and provide for
cremation of the person's remains and interment.

Burial of the body shall be the final disposition only if cremation is not in accordance with the
decedent’s personal preferences, the known practices of the decedent’s faith, the personal



preferences of the decedent’s spouse or next of kin, or the medical examiner/coroner’s
requirement for burial pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 390.21.

VII. AUTHORIZED SERVICES

Cremation (with or without a memorial service) includes funeral home and
professional service fees. Should the spouse or next of kin not want to take
possession of the remains, cemetery lot and cemetery open/close will be included
in authorized services.

Traditional Burial includes all professional services, transportation of the body,
grave box, casket, cemetery lot, cemetery open/close and funeral service.

County burial approvals include a $50.00 Medical Examiner fee if applicable.

Local transportation, within a 60 mile radius, of the body from the place of death or
medical examiner to the funeral home, and from the funeral home to the place of
service or place of final disposition is included in the professional services.

Transportation at a rate of $1.60 per loaded mile, for mileage exceeding a 60 mile
radius, may be allowed in lieu of cemetery lot payment if it is necessary to transport
the deceased to a privately purchased or existing burial site, up to an additional
$600. Out-of-state transportation exceeding the 60 mile radius will not be approved.

VIIl. UNAUTHORIZED SERVICES

SLCPHHS does not permit the responsible relative to make enhancements to the
authorized services included in the county burial procedure such as purchasing a
more expensive casket.

SLCPHHS does not permit the responsible relative to add any auxiliary services
such as memorial cards, flowers, music, etc.

Individuals, other than the responsible relative, may choose to pay for items not
included as authorized services in the county burial procedure. Verification of
payment source will be required.

If enhancements, substitutions or additions are made to the authorized services, by
the responsible relative, the burial application will be denied.

If any unauthorized services are provided by the funeral home, the funeral home
will forfeit any and all payments authorized herein. SLCPHHS burial assistance
payment must be accepted by the funeral home as payment in full for authorized
services provided.

SLCPHHS will not pay for expenses related to interment fees, winter burial costs
(including snow removal and thawing of the ground), perpetual care, markers or
headstones, additional transportation, tent and set-up fees, weekend or holiday

charges, clothing or obituaries.



IX. BURIAL RATES
Burial rates are determined by SLCPHHS.

X. CLAIMS AGAINST THE ESTATE

In accordance with Minnesota Statutes § 261.04, SLCPHHS shall have a claim against the
estate of a deceased person who received St. Louis County burial assistance in order to
recover county costs.

XIl. FALSIFYING INFORMATION

Burial assistance applications that are suspected of containing false information from the
applicant will be referred to the Fraud Prevention Unit for investigation and possible legal
action.

Xll. APPEAL RIGHTS

If an application is denied and the applicant wishes to appeal, a Request for Appeal of County
Burial (PHHS #02-05-0255) must be completed within 30 days of receipt of the Notice of
Action. The Director of Public Health and Human Services will review appeal requests.
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