NOTICE OF FILING FOR THE 2024 STATE GENERAL ELECTION ST. LOUIS COUNTY, MINNESOTA

Notice is hereby given that the State General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024. The filing period for United States Senator, United States Representative, State Representative, Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals, and Judge of the District Court, County Commissioner, and North and South Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024, and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024.

For non-major political party candidates and independent candidates, the filing period for presidential elector candidates begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024, and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, August 20, 2024. The certification deadline for major political party presidential elector candidates is August 27, 2024.

Note: Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 27, 2024, in observance of Memorial Day. For presidential elector candidates, filing offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, in observance of Juneteenth and on Thursday, July 4, 2024, in observance of Independence Day.

Candidates may file in person or by mail between 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 21, 2024, and 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 4, 2024. Filings will be accepted in the Offices of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Veterans Services Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, MN, 55155 and the St. Louis County Auditor, St. Louis County Courthouse, 100 North 5th Avenue West, Room 214, Duluth, MN, 55802 (see below to determine where to file).

Candidates may file in person or by mail. Complete documents and fees must be received, physically, by 5:00 p.m. on the last day of filing, which is June 4, 2024. Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period and meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes section 204B.09, subdivision 1a, may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidate's absence from the state. This notice is sent based on current law. Be aware that the Legislature and/or Governor could make changes that affect some of these processes.

Candidates for the following federal offices must file with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State, Veterans Services Building, 20 West 12th Street, St. Paul, MN 55155.

FEDERAL OFFICES

Presidential Electors - Ten (10)

United States Senator - One (1)

United States Representative District 8 - One (1)

(Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Mille Lacs, Pine, St. Louis, Washington Counties)

Candidates for the following offices may file with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the County Auditor in the county where the candidate resides.

STATE LEGISLATIVE OFFICES

State Representative – One (1) Office per district.

District 3A (Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis Counties)
District 3B (Lake, St. Louis Counties)
District 7A (Aitkin, Itasca, St. Louis Counties)
District 7B (St. Louis County)
District 8A (St. Louis County)
District 8B (St. Louis County)
District 11A (Carlton, Pine, St. Louis Counties)

Candidates for judicial office may file either with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the County Auditor in the county where the candidate resides. A candidate filing for one of the Minnesota Court of Appeals seats that has been designated for one of the congressional districts must be a resident of that congressional district.

JUDICIAL OFFICES

Supreme Court – Chief Justice One (1) Seat Incumbent Natalie E. Hudson

Supreme Court – Associate Justice Two (2) Seats

Seat 5 Incumbent Anne K. McKeig Seat 6 Incumbent Karl Procaccini

Court of Appeals Seven (7) Seats

Appellate offices are elected statewide. Where designated, candidates must reside in the congressional district listed for at least one year.

Seat 2 Incumbent Jonathan P. Schmidt
Seat 3 Incumbent Sarah Wheelock (2nd Congressional District)
Seat 4 Incumbent Tracy M. Smith
Seat 6 Incumbent Renee L. Worke (1st Congressional District)
Seat 8 Incumbent Keala C. Ede
Seat 12 Incumbent Diane B. Bratvold
Seat 14 Incumbent Elise L. Larson (8th Congressional District)

District Court – 6th Judicial District Four (4) Seats (Carlton, Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties)

Seat 5 Incumbent Michelle M. Anderson Seat 6 Incumbent Dale O. Harris Seat 12 Incumbent Nicole L. Hopps Seat 16 Incumbent Jill A. Eichenwald

Candidates for the following offices <u>must</u> file with the St. Louis County Auditor, St. Louis County Courthouse, 100 North 5th Avenue West, Room 214, Duluth, MN, 55802

COUNTY OFFICES

County Commissioners Districts 2, 3, 5, and 7 North Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors Districts 2, 4, and 5 South Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisors Districts 1, and 4 *NOTE:* Candidates for city, town, school district, and hospital district offices must file with the clerk of the applicable jurisdiction.

If you have any questions about filing for office, please contact the St. Louis County Auditor's Office, at (218) 726-2385 or by email at: <u>elections@stlouiscountymn.gov</u>

NANCY NILSEN, COUNTY AUDITOR-TREASURER By: Phil Chapman, Deputy Auditor/Elections Manager