Search
GOVERNMENTDepartments & AgenciesPublic Works   

Our mission is to provide a safe, well maintained road and bridge system that will ensure reliable and convenient access to County services, facilities, recreational and natural resource areas and employment centers; to enhance the quality of life of St. Louis County residents; and to promote the economic development of the area.

During the 2017 construction season, St. Louis County will invest $63.5 million in its roads and bridges. These projects will be funded from a combination of State Aid and Federal Highway funds, along with revenue from the Transportation Sales Tax. 

Topic Areas

News and Press

What's NEW?

Latest News Releases
Spotlight Projects
Transportation Sales Tax

 

Image of a Compass

Land Surveying

County Surveyor
Gov't. Corner Certificates
Land Survey
Purchasing Property
Subdividing Property

Road Maintenance Image

Maintenance Districts

4th Maintenance District
5th Maintenance District
6th Maintenance District
7th Maintenance District
Bridge Maintenance

Image of an Envelope

Bids

Road & Bridge Projects
Electronic Bidding

 

GIS Image

Maps

County Highway Map
Maintenance Districts Map
State Highway Map

 

Road Maintenance Image

Road Maintenance

Dust Control
Grading
Mailboxes and Supports
Road Specifications
Snow Plowing

Road and Bridge Image

Roads & Bridges

Road Construction Viewer
Work Zone Safety

Permits Image

Permits

Driveway Access
Moving
Special Use
Utility

Road Traffic Control Image

Traffic Control

Adopt-a-Highway
Road Restrictions 
Traffic Sign Policy
Maintenance Striping Maps
Railroad Crossing Maintenance Maps

 

About Staff Directory Office Locations Request Info

Public Works

Public Works - Administration, Engineering, and Right of Way
Richard H. Hansen Public Works and Transportation Complex
4787 Midway Road
Duluth, MN 55811

Info: 218-625-3830
Fax: 218-625-3888
Email: tesdahls@stlouiscountymn.gov

Public Works - Bridge Division
Central Range Public Works Facility
1425 East 23rd Street
Hibbing, MN 55746

Info: 218-262-0150
Fax: 218-262-0014
Email: hemmilam@stlouiscountymn.gov

Public Works - Land Survey Division
Duluth Office
Richard H. Hansen Public Works and Transportation Complex
4787 Midway Road
Duluth, MN 55811

 
Info: 218-625-3881
Fax: 218-625-3887
Email: hendershottt@stlouiscountymn.gov

 

Virginia Office
7823 Highway 135
Virginia, MN 55792

Info: 218-742-9814
Fax: 218-741-7832
Email: stewartn@stlouiscountymn.gov

Administration
Jim Foldesi Public Works Director/Highway Engineer foldesij@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3830
Brian Boder Deputy Public Works Director - Maintenance boderb@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3836
Boyd Johnson Contract Administration Manager johnsonb2@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3834
Paul Kovach Personnel Officer kovachp@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3835
Chad Skelton Fleet Manager skeltonc@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9804
Matt Hemmila Deputy Public Works Director - Engineering hemmilam@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-262-0153
       
Engineering    
Carol Andrews Environmental Project Manager andrewsc@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3862
Eric Fallstrom Principal Engineer-Resident, Virginia fallstrome@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9821
Matt Hemmila Principal Engineer - Bridge hemmilam@stlouiscountymn.gov  218-262-0153 
Vic Lund Principal Engineer - Traffic lundv@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3873
Steve Krasaway Principal Engineer - Resident, Duluth krasaways@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3841
Ross Benedict Engineering Tech Principal benedictr@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3842
Rick Kalisch Engineering Tech Principal kalischr@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9881
Lance Robertson Engineering Tech Principal robertsonl@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-262-0269
Steve Ruhanen Engineering Tech Principal ruhanens@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3855
 
 
Land Survey
Nick Stewart County Surveyor stewartn@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9823
Preston Dowell Deputy County Surveyor dowellp@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9824
Todd Hendershott Deputy County Surveyor hendershottt@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3882
 
Maintenance Superintendents
Dale Johnson 4th District Superintendent johnsond7@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-666-5261
Gordy Halverson 5th District Superintendent halversong@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3849
Darrel Brodeen 6th District Superintendent brodeend@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9803
Michael Lopac 7th District Superintendent lopacm@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-262-0270
Steve Bergerson Bridge Superintendent bergersons@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3838
 
Right of Way Agents
Andy Butler Right of Way Agent butlera@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9879
Steve Kniefel Right of Way Agent kniefels@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-742-9828
Andy Plesha Right of Way Agent pleshaa@stlouiscountymn.gov 218-625-3866
 

Ely Maintenance Facility
2210 East Sheridan Street   Suite 2
Ely, MN 55731

Info: 218-365-2380
Fax: 218-365-2396
Email:johnsond7@stlouiscountymn.gov

 

Hibbing Maintenance Facility
1425 East 23rd Street
Hibbing, MN 55746

Info: 218-262-0150
Fax: 218-262-0014
Email:lopacm@stlouiscountymn.gov

 

Jean Duluth Maintenance Facility
5595 Jean Duluth Road
Duluth, MN 55803

Info: 218-625-3800
Fax: 218-720-1516
Email:halversong@stlouiscountymn.gov

 

Linden Grove Maintenance Facility
11193 Highway 1
Cook, MN 55723

Info: 218-666-5261
Fax: 218-666-5224
Email:johnsond7@stlouiscountymn.gov
 
Pike Lake/Duluth Maintenance Facility
4787 Midway Road
Duluth, MN 55811
Info: 218-625-3800
Fax: 218-625-3818
Email:halversong@stlouiscountymn.gov
 
Virginia Maintenance Facility
7823 Highway 135
Virginia, MN 55792

Info: 218-742-9800
Fax: 218-741-7832
Email:brodeend@stlouiscountymn.gov

Go to top

1 2 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 3