Transient Merchant License
Fee:  $150.00 per site

Minnesota Statute Chapter 329
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=329&view=chapter
MN Statute Chapter 329.099 - Definition:

The term "transient merchant" includes any person, individual, co-partnership, limited liability company, and corporation, both as principal and agent, who engage in, do, or transact any temporary and transient business in this state, either in one locality, or in traveling from place to place in this state, selling goods, wares, and merchandise; and who, for the purpose of carrying on such business, hire, lease, occupy, or use a building, structure, vacant lot, or railroad car for the exhibition and sale of such goods, wares, and merchandise. The term "transient merchant" does not include a seller or exhibitor in a firearms collector show involving two or more sellers or exhibitors.
1. Application must be completed in full and signed.
2. Surety bond in the amount of at least $1,000.00, bound unto St. Louis County, 100 N. 5th Ave. W., #214, Duluth, MN  55812-1293

a. Acknowledgments of surety and principal are required and notarized

b. A power of attorney is required if anyone other than an officer of the bonding company signs the bond

c. Bond obligee:  “Any Transient Merchant Customer of Principal [applicant’s name]”
3. Itemized list of merchandise to be offered for sale
a. Including description
b. Serial number, if any
c. The owner’s actual cost
d. A designation by number corresponding with a number to be affixed to each item by a tag which shall be kept fastened to the item at all times until sold
4. If any of the sales will be conducted as an auction, the person conducting the auction must apply for a Minnesota Auctioneer License.  Contact the Auditor’s Office for application and requirements.
5. The license issued to you is valid only for the site listed on the application.  If you are conducting sales at multiple sites, you are required to apply for a license for each location.

6. It is your responsibility to inquire about any additional city or township licenses that may be required.

7. The Minnesota Department of Revenue requires all license applicants to submit their social security number, and if applicable, their Minnesota State and Federal Tax ID numbers.

8. For further information, contact the County Auditor’s Office by phone, 218-726-2000, ext. 4526 or johnsonw@stlouiscountymn.gov
9. Return all required documents to:  St. Louis County Auditor, Attention:  Licensing, 100 N. 5th Ave. W., Room 214, Duluth, MN  55802-1293.
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