 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1FIREWORKS PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

Effective January 1, 1996, Minnesota state law changed requirements for fireworks permits.  Please read carefully.

$ 
Request for the permit must be made at least 15 days prior to the event and is subject to the approval of the St. Louis County Sheriff’s Office.

$ 
Issued only in organized and unorganized areas in St. Louis County.  If the display will be held within the limits of a city, contact the fire chief and/or the city clerk.

Sponsor must be a city, fair association, amusement park or other public or private organization.  Examples of private organization are Eagles, Elks, Legion Clubs, businesses, companies, lake associations and private colleges. Permits cannot be issued to individuals.

Full middle name, date of birth, day time phone number and driver’s license number is required for authorized agent for sponsor.

Application is only for the specified date/time/location of your display.  You may indicate a “rain date”.

A diagram of the grounds, or facilities (for indoor display), at which the display will be held, is required.  This diagram (drawn to scale or with dimensions included) must show the point at which the fireworks/pyrotechnic special effects are to be discharged; the location of ground pieces; the location of all buildings highways, streets, communication lines and other possible overhead obstructions; and the lines behind which the audience will be restrained.  For proximate audience (e.g. indoor) displays the diagram must also show the fallout radius for each pyrotechnic device used during the display.  This diagram may be placed on the back of the application.

Be specific about the manner/place of storage of fireworks prior to display.

Indicate type/number of fireworks to be discharged.  You may attach a separate list.

Minnesota state law requires that this display be conducted under the direct supervision of a pyrotechnic operator certified by the State Fire Marshall.

Full middle name, certificate number, drivers license number, state of residence and date of birth are required for the supervising operator.  The pyrotechnic operator must provide this office with a copy of his/her certificate issued by the Department of Public Safety.  Attach a list of names and ages (must be at least 18) of all assistants that will be participating in the display.

The sponsor’s agent must sign and date the application.

Requirements:

$ 
Proof of surety bond or certificate of insurance in the amount of at least $200,000/$500,000.

$ 
A diagram of the grounds/facilities, at which the display will be held, must show dimensions, discharge point, location of ground pieces, buildings, highways, streets, communication lines, overhead obstructions and the audience restraining lines.

Fee:
$50.00 payable to the St. Louis County Auditor

Return all required documents to:  St. Louis County Auditor, Attention:  Fireworks Permit, 100 N. 5th Ave. W., Room 214, Duluth, MN  55802-1293.  For further information, contact the County Auditor’s Office by e-mail at johnsonw@stlouiscountymn.gov or by telephone at 218-726-2000, ext. 4526.
