To apply for a marriage license, the applicants must be at least eighteen years of age. The applicants must appear in person together at one of the following locations:
Make an application online prior to coming into the Recorder's Office at http://records.stlouiscountymn.gov/OnlineMarriageApp/. Once you appear and sign the application in person, THERE WILL BE A FIVE-DAY WAITING PERIOD before your license is valid.
Or download a marriage application in the document library below, complete and bring it to one of the recording offices listed above for processing. If you cannot download the application, please call 218-726-2559 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to request an application. Applications are also available at any of the above offices. The license is valid for of six months in the State of Minnesota only. There are no refunds.
Whether you complete the marriage license application online or in our office, BEFORE YOUR MARRIAGE CEREMONY, BOTH PARTIES* MUST APPEAR TOGETHER IN THE RECORDER'S OFFICE to sign the marriage license and pay the required fees. (*Some exclusions apply.) FIVE-DAY WAITING PERIOD BEGINS AFTER APPEARING IN PERSON.
The processing fee is $115.00 without Premarital Education. With the proof of completion of 12 hours of Premarital Education, the fee is $40.00. The educator must be a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. See Premarital Education Statement below in the document library.
There is a five-day waiting period to obtain the marriage license. After the five-day waiting period, the marriage license may be obtained in person at the office where the application was processed, with the receipt. If the receipt is lost, an applicant may pick up the license with valid picture identification. Click here to see the list of acceptable documents of identity.
To obtain a waiver of the five-day waiting period, please call a local office. There is an extra $20.00 fee to process this waiver. In the case of extraordinary circumstances, a judge of the district court of the county where the license is issued may authorize a release of the five-day waiting period. To obtain a five-day waiver, applicants must complete a five-day waiver application form in the document library below, with an oath or notarization and present it to the Court Administrator’s office for judge’s approval. For further information, contact the Court Administrator’s office at 218-726-2460, option 3. Filing fee for the marriage license must be paid in cash.
If an applicant has a felony conviction for a crime committed on or after August 1, 2000 and want to change their name with the marriage process, additional documents are necessary and delays of up to 30 days may occur. Please contact the local office for details.
View a list of judges and court administrators who perform marriage ceremonies in the document library below.
For further information, please contact a local office listed above or email at email@example.com .