RESIDENT AUCTIONEER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Fee:  $20.00
Minnesota Statute Chapter 330

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=330
DEFINITIONS:

· Auctioneer:  "Any person" who sells "any property at auction"

· Surety Bond:  Issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in 
Minnesota, filed with the County Auditor as an insurance policy, in the event the 
auctioneer defaults resulting in a law suit.

· Principal:  Applicant

· Surety:  Insurance Company

· Acknowledgment:  Notarization

· Obligee:  “Any Auctioneer Customer of Principal [applicant’s name]”

1. MN Statute Chapter 330.01 (b) – To Whom Granted:

a. A natural person, 18 years of age or over
b. Resident of St. Louis County for at least six (6) months preceding the date of application

c. No co-partnership, association or corporation may be licensed as an auctioneer

2. Application must be completed in full and signed.  Information certifying compliance of Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Law is required by Minnesota Statute, Section 176.182.

a. Surety bond, issued in the name of the auctioneer, (a corporation cannot be licensed) in the amount of at least $1,000.00, “Any Auctioneer Customer of Principal [applicant’s name]”
b. Acknowledgments of surety and principal are to be completed and notarized

c. A power of attorney is required if anyone other than an officer of the bonding company signs the bond

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute 330.09.  Notice in writing shall be given to the St. Louis County Auditor, of any change of address, whereupon the auditor shall issue a duplicate license for a fee of $3.00.  Failure to do so could result in cancellation of your license.

4. The Minnesota Department of Revenue requires all license applicants to submit their social security number, and if applicable, their Minnesota State and Federal Tax ID numbers.

5. For further information, contact the County Auditor’s Office by phone, 218-726-2000, ext. 4526 or johnsonw@stlouiscountymn.gov
6. Return all required documents to:  St. Louis County Auditor, Attention:  Licensing, 100 N. 5th Ave. W., Room 214, Duluth, MN  55802-1293.
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