
Sample Child Care Policy 
Name________________________ Address______________________ 

Phone________________________ E-mail________________________ 
Site Name (If Any)_______________________ Date__________________________ 

 
 

Welcome to my child care home.  This policy outlines the policies and procedures I use 
in my child care home.  I have met the family child care licensing requirements from the 
state of Minnesota.  A copy of the licensing rule is available upon request. (N) 
 
My License class A, allows me to care for a total of 10 children who are 10 years of age 
or younger.  This includes 4 school-age children and 6 under school-age children.  Of the 
6 under school-age children, 3 may be infants (6 weeks to 12 months) and toddlers (12 to 
24 months); no more than 2 of those under 24 months of age may be infants.  (A) 
 
I do not discriminate in admission of children in my child care home.  (F) 
 
I am required to immediately report any suspected physical or sexual abuse, or neglect of 
any child in my care, according to Minnesota Statutes, Section 626.556. 
 
My home is open to provide child care on the following days and hours: _____________ 
___________________________________________________________________ (B) 
 
Other hours (may/may not) be available upon request according to my availability. 
 
MEALS (C) 
I participate in a federally funded food program and am required to serve nutritious, well-
balanced meals and snacks.  I serve the following: _______________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________   
 
If any food or baby bottles are brought from home, they must be labeled with the child’s 
name.  Please check with me before sending food from home.  (D) 
 
SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS (D) 
Each child is provided with a safe and comfortable sleeping space with separate bedding.  
Infants must put to sleep on their backs in approved cribs or portacribs with waterproof 
mattresses or pads.   
 
EMERGENCY/BACKUP (H) 
If I must leave for an emergency, I will have a trained adult come in and take my place 
for a short time until you arrive.  If I am ill, I will notify you so that you can make other 
arrangements.   
 
I am required to conduct monthly fire and storm drills.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



INSURANCE (O) 
I (do/do not) carry day care liability insurance.    
 
The Minnesota Rule governing family child care indicates that “A provider shall have a 
certificate of insurance for the residence for general liability coverage for bodily harm in 
the amount of at least $100,000 per person and $250,000 per occurrence: if the provider 
has … lesser limits or no liability coverage, the provider shall give written notice … to 
parents…” 
 
This is to notify you, my child care parents, that at the present time: 
 
______I do not carry general liability insurance on my child care business. 
 
______I carry a lesser limit of liability coverage than stated in Rule at the level of $_____ 
 
According to the Minnesota Rule regulating family child care, I am required to inform 
you of this fact.   
 
Please sign below to indicate that you have read and understand this notice.   
 
Parents Signature:___________________  Date: __________________ 
 
SMOKING (P) 
Smoking is NOT allowed in my child care home, according to MN State Law.  
 
If smoking is allowed in the home during non-daycare hours attach Freedom to 
Breathe notice to policy.   
 
MEDICAL  (G) 
I will notify you immediately if your child has any of the following conditions: an 
underarm temperature of 100, an oral or ear temperature of 101, or a rectal temperature of 
102 or higher; is vomiting; has diarrhea; or has a rash other than a heat-related rash.  I 
will expect you to make arrangements to come and take your child home as soon as 
possible.   
 
I require written permission and instructions to administer medicines, sunscreens, 
diapering products, and insect repellants.  Prescription medicines must have the child’s 
name and directions on the label. 
 
The Admission and Arrangements form the Immunization form must be completed for 
each child before attending my day care. 
 
TRANSPORTATION  (I) 
I will/will not transport children under age 9. 
I have/have not taken transportation safety training. 
 
If I do transport your child I will: 
 A. Maintain required training in transportation safety. 

B. Require your written permission to transport your child. 
C. Use proper individual carseat/booster seat/seat belts when transporting your 

child. 



 
PETS (M) 
I have ____ dogs and ____ cats in my home.  All are up to date on their rabies shots.  I 
also have other pets including ______________________________________________. 
 
CLOTHING AND SUPPLIES 
For infants and toddlers, please provide: disposable diapers, wipes, baby bottles, a 
blanket sleeper, and two sets of extra clothes.  For older children, please provide an extra 
set of clothes.  During cold weather please send hat, mittens, warms jackets, snowpants, 
and boots. 
 
SUPERVISION 
I am required to be within sight or hearing of infants, toddlers, and pre-schoolers at all 
times.  I am required to be available for assistance and care for school age children.  
School age children will only leave my property with your written permission. 
 
DISCIPLINE 
I would like to know your views on behavioral guidance and the types of behavioral 
guidance used in your home.  I am not allowed to use any type of physical discipline, 
such as hand slapping, spanking, hitting, pinching, biting, etc., with the child care 
children.  Please do not ask me to use these methods.  I will not do or say anything that 
will threaten, frighten, or humiliate your child.  I will use verbal messages, a short 
“time-out” away from activities or other children (one minute per age of child), or take 
away use of toys or other items.  I will reward positive behaviors. 
 
ACTIVITIES 
Activities are an important part of my child care program.  They are informally structured 
to meet the needs of children of various ages and interests.  Television viewing is limited 
and supervised.  We try to spend some time outside every day, weather permitting. 
 
FEES (J) 
I will notify you ____ weeks in advance of any changes in my rates. 
 
I (have/do not have) a required minimum number of ____ hours per week.  If you do not 
use the full minimum, you must still pay for it. 
 
I am closed the following holidays: ___________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
My rates are: infants, $____ per hour; toddlers, $____ per hour; pre-schoolers, $____ per 
hour; and school age, $____ per hour.  I will round up to the nearest ½ hour daily. 
 
Your children’s contracted hours are: _________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Any time before or after your scheduled time will be considered overtime.  There will be 
an additional charge of $ _____ per 30 minutes, or any portion of 30 minutes. 
 
I require that payments be made to me on: _____________________________________ 



I require a two weeks written notice in advance of any terminations, so I can plan 
accordingly.  If none is given, two weeks payment must be made, whether your child is 
present or not.  If less than two weeks written notice is given, payment must be made for 
any time short of the two weeks notice.  If I find that I can no longer care for your 
children, I will give you a two weeks written notice. (K) 
 
I will notify you ____ weeks in advance of my vacations so you can make back-up 
arrangements. 
 
COMMUNICATIONS 
It is essential that we communicate regularly, preferably daily, about you child’s day in 
my home, as well as his/her time at home.  If I am busy at drop-off or pick-up time, or if 
you are in a hurry, please call me at the following times: __________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
TRAIL PERIOD 
Since an adjustment period necessary, let’s try out this agreement for ____ weeks.  If it is 
not satisfactory, we each have the right to terminate this agreement within that period, 
with no further obligations. 
 
GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE (R) 
If you have a problem with anything that occurs in my day care home, please let me 
know and I will schedule a time we can meet and discuss your concerns.  After we meet, 
I will consider the situation and make a final decision.  I will notify you in writing of the 
decision I make.   
 
DRUG AND ALCOHOL POLICY (S) 
I, and any employees or volunteers in my day care will not use non-prescribed mood 
altering medications, illegal drugs, or alcohol during the hours of day care operation. 
 
I have read and understand this provider policy, and agree to abide by it. 
Attachments:  
 Reporting Policy 
 Rule Summary for Parents 
 Freedom to Breathe in a Family Daycare 
 
 
__________________________________________ ____________________ 
Parent’s signature      Date 
 
__________________________________________ ____________________ 
Provider’s signature      Date 
  
 



REPORTING POLICY FOR 
____________________________________________________ 

Licensing Family Child Care Program 
 

Who Should Report Child Abuse and Neglect 
• Any person may voluntarily report abuse or neglect. 
• If you work with children in a licensed facility, you are legally required or mandated to 

report and cannot shift the responsibility of reporting to anyone else.  If you know or 
have reason to believe a child is being or has been neglected or physically or sexually 
abused within the preceding three years you must immediately (within 24 hours) make a 
report to an outside agency. 

 
Where to Report 

• If you know or suspect that a child is in immediate danger, call 9-1-1. 
• Reports regarding incidents of suspected abuse or neglect of children occurring at a 

family child care program, within a family or in the community should be made to St. 
Louis County Public Health and Human Services Department at: Ely area 218-365-8220, 
Duluth area 218-726-2000, Hibbing area 218-262-6000, Virginia area 218-749-7128, or 
toll free from anywhere in St. Louis County 1-800-450-9777.  Or you may contact you 
local law enforcement agency. 

• If your report does not involve possible abuse or neglect, but does involve possible 
violations of Minnesota Statutes or Rules that govern the facility, you should call St. 
Louis County Public Health & Human Services Department, via Arrowhead Child Care 
Resource and Referral at 1-800-450-0450. 

 
What to Report 

• Definitions of maltreatment are contained in the Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors 
Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 626.556 (see attached). 

• A report to any of the above agencies should contain enough information to identify the 
child involved, any persons responsible for the abuse or neglect (if known), and the 
nature and extent of the maltreatment and/or possible licensing violations.  For reports 
concerning suspected abuse or neglect occurring within a licensed facility, the report 
should include any actions taken by the facility in response to the incident. 

• An oral report of suspected abuse or neglect made to one of the above agencies by a 
mandated reporter must be followed by written report to the same agency within 72 
hours, exclusive of weekends and holidays. 

 
Retaliation Prohibited 
 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.566, subd.4a states that an employer of any mandated 
reporter shall not retaliate against a mandated reporter for reports made in good faith or against a 
child with respect to whom the report is made.  The Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors Act 
contains specific provisions regarding civil actions that can be initiated by mandated reporters 
who believe that retaliation has occurred. 
 
Failure to Report 
 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 626.566, subd.6, a mandated reporter who knows 
or has reason to believe a child is or has been neglected or physically or sexually abused and fails 
to report is guilty of a misdemeanor.  In addition, a mandated reporter who fails to report 
maltreatment that is found to be serious  or recurring maltreatment may be disqualified from 
employment in positions allowing direct contact with persons receiving services from programs 
licensed by the Department of Human Services and by the Minnesota Department of Health, and 
unlicensed Personal Care Provider Organizations. 
 

THIS REPORTING POLICY MUST BE PROVIDED TO THE PARENTS OF ALL  
CHILDREN AT THE TIME OF ENROLLMENT IN THE CHILD CARE PROGRAM  

AND MUST BE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.  


