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(c) The land to be sold is located in St. Louis County and is described as: that part of19.1

the Southwest Quarter of the Southeast Quarter, Section 8, Township 58 North, Range19.2

17 West, commencing at the southwest corner of said forty; thence North 87 degrees 3819.3

minutes 02 seconds East 124.67 feet to the point of beginning; thence North 23 degrees 3019.4

minutes 20 seconds West 91.12 feet; thence North 87 degrees 38 minutes 02 seconds East19.5

parallel to the south line 252.66 feet; thence North 02 degrees 21 minutes 58 seconds West19.6

415 feet; thence North 87 degrees 38 minutes 02 seconds East 350 feet; thence South 0219.7

degrees 21 minutes 58 seconds East 500 feet to the south line of said forty; thence South19.8

87 degrees 38 minutes 02 seconds West 569.80 feet to the point of beginning; except19.9

assuming the west line of the Southwest Quarter of the Southeast Quarter to bear North19.10

01 degree 57 minutes 18 seconds West and commencing at the southwest corner of said19.11

forty; thence run North 87 degrees 38 minutes 02 seconds East along the south line 444.4719.12

feet to the point of beginning; thence run North 02 degrees 21 minutes 58 seconds West19.13

500 feet; thence North 87 degrees 38 minutes 02 seconds East 250 feet; thence South 0219.14

degrees 21 minutes 58 seconds East 500 feet to the south boundary line of said forty;19.15

thence South 87 degrees 38 minutes 02 seconds West 250 feet to the point of beginning.19.16

1.61 acres. (parcel 090-0195-00205).19.17

(d) The county has determined that the county's land management interests would19.18

best be served if the lands were returned to private ownership.19.19

Sec. 28. SALE OF TAX-FORFEITED LEASED LANDS; ST. LOUIS COUNTY.19.20

Subdivision 1. Sale authorized. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections19.21

92.45 and 282.018, subdivision 1, and the public sale provisions of Minnesota Statutes,19.22

chapter 282, St. Louis County may in its sole discretion sell tax-forfeited lakeshore lots19.23

that are currently leased. St. Louis County may also sell other adjacent tax-forfeited lands19.24

under this section necessary for roadway access and the creation of conforming lot sizes.19.25

Subd. 2. Method of sale. (a) The leaseholder of a leased parcel may purchase at19.26

private sale the leased parcel and any other lands allocated to the parcel by the county19.27

under subdivision 6 that is offered for sale under this section. The purchase price is the19.28

appraised value of the land under subdivision 3 exclusive of improvements on it. To19.29

purchase a parcel, a leaseholder must pay in cash to the county an amount equal to the19.30

appraised value of the land within 180 days from the date of mailing to or service of notice19.31

of appraised value to the leaseholder by the county. The 180-day period runs from the date19.32

of mailing of a copy of the appraisal to the leaseholder at the address shown upon the most19.33

recent lease agreement between the parties, exclusive of the date of mailing or service.19.34
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The county may use any alternative method of notice under the Minnesota Rules of Civil20.1

Procedure for the service of a summons and complaint.20.2

(b) If the leaseholder does not purchase the parcel so offered, the county may20.3

offer the lands for sale at public auction under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes,20.4

section 282.01, subdivision 3. If a person other than the leaseholder purchases the parcel,20.5

the purchaser must make payment in full to the leaseholder in the manner provided in20.6

Minnesota Statutes, section 92.06, subdivision 4, for the value of any improvements as20.7

determined under subdivision 3.20.8

(c) Failure of a purchaser to comply with the terms of payment voids the sale and the20.9

property may be reoffered for sale.20.10

Subd. 3. Appraisal. (a) An appraisal must be made in accordance with Minnesota20.11

Statutes, section 282.01, subdivision 3, except as modified by this subdivision.20.12

Improvements that are owned by the lessee must be appraised separately.20.13

(b) The county shall select the appraiser. The appraiser selected must meet the20.14

minimal appraisal standards established by the federal Farmers Home Administration or20.15

the federal Veterans Administration, and be licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section20.16

82B.03, to appraise the property to be sold.20.17

(c) The costs of appraisal must be allocated by the county to the lots offered for sale20.18

and the successful purchaser on each lot shall reimburse the county for the appraisal costs20.19

allocated to the lot purchased. If no one purchases a lot, the county is responsible for20.20

the appraisal cost.20.21

(d) If a leaseholder disagrees with the appraised value of the leasehold improvements,20.22

the leaseholder may select an appraiser that meets the qualifications in paragraph (b) to20.23

reappraise the improvements. The leaseholder must give notice of intent to object to the20.24

appraised value of the improvements within ten days of the date of the mailing or service20.25

of notice under subdivision 2, paragraph (a). The reappraisal must be delivered by the20.26

leaseholder to the county auditor within 60 days of the date of mailing or service of notice20.27

of appraised value under subdivision 2, paragraph (a), or the initial appraisal shall be20.28

conclusive. The leaseholder is responsible for the costs of the reappraisal. If the parcel is20.29

reappraised within the time required in this paragraph and the county and the leaseholder20.30

fail to agree on the value of the improvements by a date set by the county, each of the20.31

appraisers shall agree upon the selection of a third appraiser to conduct a third appraisal20.32

that shall be conclusive as to the value of the improvements. The cost of this appraisal20.33

must be paid equally by the county and the leaseholder.20.34
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Subd. 4. Proceeds. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the proceeds from21.1

the sale of land described in subdivision 1 must be deposited by the county into an21.2

environmental trust fund as provided in Laws 1998, chapter 389, article 16, section 31,21.3

subdivision 4, as amended.21.4

(b) The following amounts may be withheld by a county board and not deposited21.5

into an environmental trust fund: the costs of appraisal, abstracts, and surveys; money21.6

received from a sale that is attributable to land owned by a county in fee; amounts paid to21.7

lessees for improvements; and the costs of sale to lessees or other parties, including the21.8

costs of advertising, realtors, and closing services.21.9

Subd. 5. Survey. (a) Prior to offering it for sale, St. Louis County shall have each21.10

lot surveyed by a licensed surveyor.21.11

(b) The costs of the survey must be allocated by the county to the lots offered for21.12

sale and the successful purchaser on each lot shall reimburse the county for the survey21.13

costs allocated to the lot purchased. If no one purchases the lot, the county is responsible21.14

for the survey costs. All surveying must be conducted by a licensed surveyor.21.15

Subd. 6. Adding lands; zoning conformance. Any lands to be sold under this21.16

section must be considered lots of record for zoning purposes. Whenever possible, St.21.17

Louis County may add land to the lots offered for sale to permit conformance with zoning21.18

requirements. The added lands must be included in the appraised value of the lot.21.19

Subd. 7. Roadways. St. Louis County has the authority to designate whether21.20

roads within minor subdivisions under the county platting and subdivision ordinance21.21

are public or private.21.22

Subd. 8. Opt out; continuation of lease. The leaseholder may elect not to purchase21.23

the leased parcel if offered for sale under this section and instead continue in the annual21.24

lease program with the county, not to exceed the lifetime of the leaseholder. The fee for a21.25

lease under this subdivision shall include the amount of the estimated property tax on the21.26

parcel if it had been returned to private ownership.21.27

Subd. 9. Sunset. This section expires five years after the effective date.21.28

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.21.29

Sec. 29. PRIVATE SALE OF LAND; ST. LOUIS COUNTY.21.30

Subdivision 1. Private sale of land. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes,21.31

section 373.01, or any other law to the contrary, St. Louis County may, without advertising21.32

Sec. 29. 21
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