GOVERNMENTNews Releases   
Article Details

2007 Board Chair and Vice Chair Elected

Categories: 2007 Press Releases | Author: SuperUser Account | Posted: 1/4/2007 | Views: 23698
January 3, 2007

Contact: Ellen Quinn, Public Information Officer, 218 -726-2621






     At the Annual Meeting of the St. Louis County Board of Commissioners, the board members elected Third District Commissioner Bill Kron as Board Chair, and Fourth District Commissioner Mike Forsman as Vice Chair.

     Commissioner Kron has functioned as the Board Chair and chairman of various committees within that board over the years.  Bill Kron's background includes experience in the U.S. Navy, as a steel plant worker, schoolteacher and small business operator. He has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Minnesota, Duluth. He is also active in many other regional organizations, most notably as President of the Duluth Seaway Port Authority Board of Commissioners.   Commissioner Kron and his wife Pat have been married for 37 years and have seven children.

          Commissioner Forsman was sworn in as a St. Louis County Commissioner in 1995.  He is Chair of the County’s Public Works and Transportation Committee and represents a constituency in the largest district East of the Mississippi.

            The St. Louis County Board will meet on the following dates in 2007:

January:           2nd, 9th  Duluth Courthouse

                        23rd – Leonidas City Hall

                        (30th is 5th Tuesday)

February:         13th, 20th  Duluth Courthouse

                        27th  Hibbing City Council Chambers

March:             13th, 20th ‑ Duluth Courthouse

                        27th  Morse Town Hall

April:               3rd, 10th ‑ Duluth Courthouse

                        24th – Gilbert City Hall

May:                1st, 8th ‑ Duluth Courthouse

                        22nd ‑ Hibbing City Council Chambers

                        (29th is fifth Tuesday)

June:                5th, 12th  Duluth Courthouse

                        26th ‑ Semer’s Park Pavilion

July:                 3rd, 10th  Duluth Courthouse

                        24th ‑ Hibbing City Council Chambers

                        (31st is fifth Tuesday)

August:           7th ‑ Duluth Courthouse

                        14th ‑ Mt. Iron Community Center

                        (August 21st and 28th ‑ no meetings)

September:      4th, 11th ‑ Duluth Courthouse

                        25th ‑ Morse Town Hall

October:          2nd, 9th  Duluth Courthouse

                        23rd – Virginia City Hall

                        (30th is fifth Tuesday)

November:      6th, 13th  Duluth Courthouse

                        27th  Hibbing City Council Chambers

December:       11th  Duluth Courthouse

                        18th ‑ Morse Town Hall

                        (December 25th ‑ no meeting)

NOTE:            The following Tuesdays were eliminated for the reasons indicated:

January 16th, April 17th, May 15th, June 19th, September 18th, October 16th  and November 20th ‑ Third Tuesdays reserved for workshops

February 6th ‑ Duluth and St. Louis County at the Capitol

March 6th ‑ NACo Conference

July 17th ‑ NACo Annual Conference

December 4th  ‑ AMC Annual Conference

December 25th – Christmas holiday




Return to previous page 123