PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM MARRIAGES: Marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the residential school administrators of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18 of Minnesota Statute.
Ministers of any religious denomination may file a copy of their credentials of license or ordination with our office by mail or in person. As of January 1, 2016, a $20.00 filing fee is required. Make your check or money order payable to the St. Louis County Recorder. The recorded document will be returned to the mailing address furnished. Also, please include a phone number with area code.
If registering by mail, send the original or photocopy of credentials, license or ordination to St. Louis County Recorder, Attn: Credentials, P.O. Box 157, Duluth, MN 55801.
If registering in person, bring the original or photocopy of credentials of license or ordination to the St. Louis County Recorder’s Office, located in the County Courthouse, 100 N 5th Avenue W., Room 101, Duluth, MN 55802. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For additional information or questions call 218-726-2677 or email firstname.lastname@example.org .