To apply for a marriage license, the applicants must be at least eighteen years of age. The applicants must appear in person together at one of the following locations:
100 N. 5th Ave W.
Duluth, MN 55802
Hours: 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Northland Office Center
307 S. 1st St., Suite 2R
Virginia, MN 55792
Hours: 8 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
1810 12th Ave. E.
Hibbing, MN 55746
Hours: 8-11:30 a.m.
SLC Service Center
320 Miners Drive E.
Ely, MN 55731
Hours: 8-11:30 a.m.
You may download a marriage application, complete and bring it to an office listed above for processing. View document library below. If you cannot download the application, please call 218-726-2559 or send an email to email@example.com to request an application. Applications are also available for completion in any of the above offices. The license shall be valid for a period of six months in the State of Minnesota only. There are no refunds.
The processing fee is $115.00 without Premarital Education. With the proof of completion of 12 hours of Premarital Education, the fee is $40.00. The educator must be a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. See Premarital Education Statement below in the document library.
There is a five-day waiting period to obtain the actual marriage license. To obtain a waiver of the five-day waiting period, please call the local office. After the five-day waiting period, the marriage license may be obtained in person at the office where the application was processed, with the receipt. If the receipt is lost, an applicant may pick up the license with valid picture identification. Click here to see the list of acceptable documents of identity.
In the case of extraordinary circumstances, a judge of the district court of the county where the license will be issued may authorize a release of the five-day waiting period. To obtain a five-day waiver, applicants must complete a waiver application form with an oath or notarization and present it to the Court Administrator’s office for judge’s approval. For further information, contact the Court Administrator’s office at 218-726-2460, option 3. Five-day waiver forms are in the document library below. Filing fee for the marriage license must be paid in cash.
If an applicant has a felony conviction for a crime committed on or after August 1, 2000 and wish to change their name with the marriage process, additional documents will be necessary and delays of up to 30 days may occur. Please contact the local office for details.
View a list of judges and court administrators who perform marriage ceremonies in the document library below.
For further information, please contact the local office at 218-726-2559.