ADULT & FAMILIESFinancial AssistanceMSA   

Minnesota Supplemental Assistance (MSA)

Minnesota Supplemental Assistance (MSA) is a state-funded program that provides a monthly cash supplement to people who are aged, blind or disabled and who receive federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. Some recipients who do not receive SSI because their other income is too high may still be eligible for MSA if they meet MSA eligibility criteria and their income is below the MSA standard. MSA participants are also eligible for help with medical costs through the Medical Assistance (MA) program and for Food Support. Applications for MSA must be made through your local county human services agency.  


MSA is available to Minnesota residents who are recipients of SSI, or

• are eligible for SSI except for excess income and whose net income is less than the MSA standards
• age 65 or older
• blind or have severely impaired vision, or
• disabled according to the criteria used for Retirement, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (RSDI) and SSI and be between the ages of 18 and 65.

Applying for MSA

To apply for the MSA program, applicants should contact their county human services agency. In St Louis county contact St Louis County Public Health & Human Services. Applicants may also download a Combined Application Form (CAF). 

Mail or bring the completed CAF to your local county human services agency. For security reasons, do not apply for assistance online.

Contact: Call for information or stop in for an application to determine if you are eligible. Duluth: 218-726-2101; Virginia: 218-749-7137; Hibbing: 218-262-6000; Ely: 218-365-8220 or call toll free 800-450-9777 or email to St Louis County is an equal opportunity provider.