ADULT & FAMILIESCommunity ServicesHHS Conference   

2015 Health & Human Service Conference 

Mark your calendars for October 15-16, 2015, for the 33rd Annual St. Louis County Health & Human Service Conference at the Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) brought to you by these 2015 Co-Sponsors.  This year's theme "The Dance of Compassion."

 2015 Conference Brochure

Conference information:

Our Conference draws together 2,500+ health and human service practitioners and 150 exhibitors from the public and private sectors for two days of training and networking. Conference offerings include one hundred and sixteen  (1 1/2 hour) Workshops and eleven (3 1/2 hour) Institutes. Participants can attend Workshops and Institutes of their choice throughout the conference.  

Conference online registration is now closed (Friday, October 9, 2015)  You can register and pay for the conference at the DECC either day.  Registration fee is $50 ($40 for students or those age 62+). The fee covers attendance for one or both days of the conference and admittance to the exhibit hall. Participants can attend the institutes and workshops of their choice throughout the conference. Minnesota Board of Social Work continuing education units (C.E.U.s) will be available; some C.E.U.s may also fulfill Minnesota Board of Nursing requirements. 

Make your check payable:
SLC Human Service Conference Fund

Note: due to the high number of expected participants, please allow extra time for parking and registration.  Parking is $5.00 per day.


Conference Keynote Speaker 

Our 2015 conference will feature Judge Floerke who will address the conference theme "The Dance of Compassion" Thursday October 15th at 10:30 in the Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC)Symphony Hall.

Judge Shawn FloerkeNothing is ultimately effective without healthy human connection. In his keynote, Calling: Our Work and Our Lives, Judge Floerke will share a vision of an integrated understanding of addiction, recovery, alliance, and mindful practice to fortify and sustain us.  Through sharing the rapidly expanding body of research surrounding brain development, trauma, and resiliency, he will present a moving depiction of addiction. He will articulate the compassionate presence, an essential component of recovery, and encourage us to see ourselves as part of that compassionate presence for those who are struggling.  Finally he will challenge us that in order to vibrantly walk out our vocations, each of us (admittedly strugglers ourselves) must grapple with our own need for renewal. 

Judge Shaun R. Floerke is the chief judge of the 6th District, chambered in Duluth. An innovator, Judge Floerke leads a high risk felony DWI Court; he is Co- Chair of the Minnesota Drug Court Initiative; he pioneered a community restorative circle model working with domestic violence offenders; and he is piloting a new approach to screen, educate and refer first-time offenders in order to prevent repeat offending. He serves with several teams of dedicated professionals and community members seeking to bring accountability and restoration for those in the judicial system. He focuses on people struggling with addiction and mental health concerns.  He trains judges and other  professionals throughout Minnesota and across the nation and has received awards and commendations for his passionate efforts to work out justice effectively and with care, dignity, and respect.

Most Popular


Related Topics

 Adult Services
 Children Services
 Community Services


 2015 Conference Brochure